Accumulating etfs

Dear people

Ive gone will accumulating etfs for a while now and i wondering how you can get them back or redeem them if you catch me. Do you have to trade them in for other companies. What do you do

Kind regards

William fancy :+1:

Hi William! You can add accumulating ETFs to your DIY portfolio at any time, see FAQ How can I buy/sell ETFs for more info.

Paul i did say how do you trade them in lol Surely there must be a way you can trade them in to make money from them. Am i right or am i wrong :thinking: because you couldnt just buy those shares and make nothing from it surely theres a way to make money from it.

What do you mean by trade and make money from them? It’s the same as any other ETFs. If you buy them at X and sell at Y you make a profit, assuming the price you sell is higher than what you bought at.

If you’re meaning about dividends then accumulating ETFs have them all included in the price so you never actually see them as such where’s a distributing ETF will pay out each quarter. If you look at two identical ETFs, one accumulating and one distributing then the accumulating one will appreciate more in price compared to the distributing one as the dividends are reinvested.

Hi! Please note that we are not advisory service and are not authorised to tell you what to do with your shares. If you wish to sell them, please check the FAQ that I shared in the previous post to learn how to do it

When you choose which ETF to invest in, you generally have a choice, Accumulating or Distributing. For Accumulating, the dividends received by your underlying holdings are simply reinvested, whereas for Distribution you will receive a dividend payment, as cash, and then it’s up to you what you do with it.