Rebalancing - to do or not to do?

Hello everyone. I am new to this investing lark and learning as I go along… has it been a bad week on on the Stock market this last week ? Anyway I trying to get my head around rebalancing as I have a few reds (I know it is early days and the time thing), but if you are in the red, should you just leave it and hopefully things will get better and go green, or do you adjust/rebalance the profolio, as the rebalancing/weighting is also a guessing game to get right. Any tips would be grateful. Thank you so much.

Hi
Rebalancing carries the costs of selling and buying ETFs to reset the risk, or investment, to the initial ratios.
It should be done as little as possible.
It is not about selling stock that has gone into the red, or diminished in value.
Last week was not a good week for me either. Crudely there are those who deal, that is buying and selling to beat the market and there are those who choose their ETFs based on performance and risk and who then step back. I am the latter. I have watched my investments go down in the past only to recover and do well.
Selling when stock has gone down is the worst time. It’s like selling deflated balloons to buy full ones. Balloons reflating will give better growth than ballons already inflated. Sorry, bad metaphor.

Thank you for replying. I am just trying and learning, some of my efts are vanguards and they were all down last week - but also trying to work out the best time to add funding to the account. Glad i dont work on the stockmarket it is up and down, so there is never a good time, I will just have faith and see or review it after a year or two as it is a long term thing - just don’t want to start badly then get worst. Thanks again.

Hi, the excellent Monevator blog has this to say… worth a read, methinks.

Thank you for that. I will have a read.